How my PhD taught me to eat

5 May

There are two critical parts to this story:

1) PhD programs can get a little stressful. No, really. Right around my qualifying exams, I realized that, in the you-are-what-you-eat reality, it just doesn’t work to quell stresses with on-the-run bites of junky comfort food. I am still learning a lot about managing stress, energy, and body with healthy whole-foods cooking.

2) My PhD program just happened to be in Madison, WI. The confluence of fertile land, family-farm culture and friendly Midwestern mentality makes Madison a Mecca for the local foods movement. There is a great appreciation for the linkages from earth to farm to table and a vast availability of organic farm shares, farmer’s markets, natural food grocers, and inspiring locally sourced gourmet restaurants.

Now I’m in a great place in the world to create colorful things with fantastic produce, and in a great place in my life to experiment with healthy cooking. So, my creative side and scientific side have joined forces to concoct delicious meals and tinker with recipes until I make them treat my body right.

I love to eat well.  I love to cook.  And I love to share.  Hope you enjoy some of my recipes.

One Response to “How my PhD taught me to eat”

  1. Kate May 10, 2011 at 5:22 pm #

    Nice blog! I’m not just subscribing just for the recipes. But I admit that may play a role …

Leave a Reply

